Click to sign your name to the pledge. 


RESPECT FOR HUMAN RIGHTS is an important pillar of a democracy. It protects the right to life and liberty, freedom from slavery and torture, freedom of opinion, of expression, and of the press. It ensures that basic needs are met, vulnerable groups are protected from abuse, and the public can petition the government for redress of grievances. 

The 1987 Philippine Constitution guarantees these rights without discrimination. It is the duty of the state to respect, protect, and fulfill them. 

As journalists, media and communication students, and advocates, we recognize our duty to promote and uphold human rights standards and accountability for violations. It is a role that is especially critical amid the alarming deterioration of the human rights situation in the country.


 In this regard, we pledge to: 


  • Make human rights issues a priority in our reporting.
  • Mainstream human rights standards and accountability mechanisms.
  • Adhere to evidence-based journalism when reporting human rights issues.
  • Seek justice for victims of human rights violations and protection for vulnerable groups and communities.
  • Demand accountability from government institutions, erring state actors and politicians as duty-bearers with the obligation to protect human rights.
  • Always hold ourselves to higher standards of impartiality, credibility, and integrity. 


 In line with these principles, we commit to: 


  • Avoid and be mindful of reports that are one-sided. We will exert efforts to reach out to all parties involved and work to understand and present all sides to the story.
  • Challenge and correct statements that do not have basis in fact.
  • Visit affected communities if possible to get a first hand account of incidents.
  • Do no harm. We will keep in mind that irresponsible reporting could inflict more damage upon the victims. 
  • Avoid highlighting or amplifying falsehoods, hate speech and incitements to violence.
  • Avoid statements and jargons that harm vulnerable groups, indigenous peoples, women, children, and the LGBTQ+ community.
  • Make a clear distinction between reportage and opinion.
  • Form and strengthen alliances among journalists, media organizations, the academe, and civil society organizations that can provide context and better understanding of incidents and issues.
  • Monitor and report if investigations are conducted to bring justice to victims of human rights violations.
  • Not support public parading of suspects before the media.
  • Employ investigative journalism to help in the search for truth and justice.
  • Highlight the efforts of the public and private sectors to uphold respect for human rights.
  • Share best practices, knowledge, and experience, and raise our individual and collective capacities and competencies in covering human rights issues.


*Top image is a photograph of a painting by Joseph Luigi Almuena, painted live during PCIJ's National Forum on Human Rights Reporting in March 2023



 Please click to add your name. 


Philippine Center for Investigative Journalism

Horacio Severino, Chairman of PCIJ Board of Editors

Carmela Fonbuena, Executive Director

Rowena Paraan, Training Director

Cherry Mae Salazar, Multimedia Reporter

Martha Teodoro, Researcher

Elyssa Lopez, Staff Reporter

Joann Manabat, Training Officer

Gabriel Kim Leal, Training Officer


Altermidya Network

Altermidya - People's Alternative Media Network

Carolyn Arguillas, Mindanews

Felipe Salvosa | Press One, PCIJ

TJ Burgonio | Cover Story, PCIJ

John Nery, Rappler

Paterno Esmaquel, Rappler

Ma. April Mier-Manjares, Philippine Daily Inquirer Luzon Bureau

Joanna Aglibot, Philippine Daily Inquirer

Marchel Espina

Alma C. Cornelio, Real Radio FM, Tandag

Edwin M. Iyo, Mindanao GoldStar Daily

Sean G.Sulugan, Benta Birada News Daily

Elmer Recuerdo, Eastern Visayas Media Without Borders

Roger N. Tilana, Magik FM Tacloban

Eleen S. Lim, Center for Community Journalism and Development (CCJD)

Menzie Montes-Tapungot, RMN INC

Donna Rabang Peta, Nordis

Froilan Gallardo, Mindanews

Jocelyn B. Ferol, Radio Mindanao Network RMN Surigao

Leonardo "Nardz" Hijara, Radio Broadcasting / Evangelical Bible College

Reynard Magtoto, Baretang Bikolnon

Steph Berganio, MisOr Radio and Northern Mindanao Daily Source

Rey Anthony R. Ostria, Philippine Daily Inquirer Luzon Bureau, Bicol University

Angelo Angolo, ABS-CBN Bacolod correspondent

Paolo Barcelon, Tier One Entertainment, Radyo Pilipinas 2

Rhaydz B. Barcia, Manila Times, Rappler, Bicol Mail, Dyaryo Bikol

Jodesz Gavilan, Rappler

Barnaby Lo

Pia Regalado

Kyle Aristophere Atienza, BusinessWorld

Aya V. Jallorina, Publiko

Ira Pedrasa

Richelyn Gubalani, Brigada Mass Media Corp.-GenSan

Janvic Mateo, Philippine Star,

Paul Soriano, NUJP Metro Manila

Redmond Jae Tobias Flores

Gab Humilde Villegas

Xave Gregorio

Gaea Katreena Cabico,

Jeline Malasig, Interaksyon

Seymour B. Sanchez

Kathleen de Villa, Philippine Daily Inquirer

Rowel Montes, Sunshine Online News

Reynald Ramirez

Kevin Ortiz, Cavite State University-Imus, The Flare, Fyt, PressOne.PH

Lan Mercado, PCIJ and UP CMC alumna

Dexter A. See, Herald Express

Ma. Ceres P. Doyo, Women Writers in Media Now (WOMEN)

Rhonechelle Cabodbod, News Writer - Southern Leyte Times

Joey Marzan

Camille Diola,

Nef Luczon

Camille Diola, and Interaksyon

Marie Tonette Grace Marticio, Eastern Visayas Mail

Patricia Aquino, PumaPodcast

Mark Saludes, Christian Science Monitor

Mark Lester T. Ponce, The Negros News

Tess Bacalla, Asia Democracy Chronicles

Merlyn Manos

Sol Juvida, Women Writers in Media

Rochit Tanedo, Women Writers in Media Now

Francis Allan Angelo, Daily Guardian

Jade Nombrado, Bandilyo Southern Leyte and Radio DYDM

Lucelle Bonzo, Davao Today

Nick Garcia

Che de los Reyes, International Media Support

Annie Perez

Marianne Enriquez, TV5

Katrina Hallare

Aileen Macalintal, PCIJ fellow

Franck Dick Rosete, Manila Bulletin

Leo Udtohan

Paul Jeffrey Peñaflor

Jee Geronimo, Rappler

Raymund B Villanueva, Kodao Productions

Deanie Lyn Ocampo

Franco Luna, PumaPodcast

Ted Aldwin Ong, Freelance Journalist

Jaemark Tordecilla

Juan Miguel Aguilar

Eunice Barbara Novio, Freelance journalist

John Michael Mugas, Philippine Daily Inquirer

Melrose S. Lunn, Aklan Press Club, Inc.

Paulynn Sicam, Women Writers in Media

Chita Dela Cruz, The Aklan Reporter

Ana P. Santos, Freelance Journalist

Jeff Canoy, ABS-CBN

Neni Sta. Romana Cruz, Women Writers

Iris Gonzales, Philippine Star



Follow PCIJ on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram