You may add your signature using the link below.


THE undersigned journalists, media organizations and advocacy groups unequivocally condemn the government’s blocking of access to the websites of media outlets Bulatlat and Pinoy Weekly and of other organizations on the claim that these are “affiliated to and are supporting terrorists and terrorist organizations.” 

National Security Adviser Hermogenes Esperon, Jr., concurrent Director-General of the National Security Council and Vice Chair of the Anti-Terrorism Council, issued the order to the National Telecommunication Commission (NTC) on June 6, 2022. The NTC acted on the order on June 18, instructing Internet Service Providers (ISP) to block 28 websites, including these two news media outfits. 

No evidence has been offered to prove the government's claim. It is clear that the act to block access to these independent news media websites counters the Constitutionally-guaranteed freedom of the press, speech and free expression and the public’s right to news and information. The order also effectively removes from the public sphere alternative news and views so necessary in a democracy. 

Operated by journalists with unquestioned editorial credentials, Bulatlat and Pinoy Weekly have been providing news and information for at least two decades  — Bulatlat for 21 years and Pinoy Weekly for 20 —  giving the necessary space for news and commentary that more often than not fall out of mainstream coverage.    

The blocking of these news media websites is an egregious violation not only of press freedom and free expression but also of the citizenry’s fundamental right to information. That right, as enshrined in the Constitution, is best served by a multitude of sources and perspectives that can enable citizens to be aware of and to understand what is going on in Philippine society. Such access enables Filipinos to make informed decisions about issues that affect their lives. Such informed citizens can participate in the process of identifying possible solutions to shared problems confronting the nation. 

This most recent attack on freedom and free expression has been part of an escalating pattern of harassment of media organizations and individual journalists.    Military and police agencies working against the communist insurgency have routinely “red-tagged” journalists and their organizations, a pernicious practice that exposes those working in the media to physical danger, including threats and attacks to life and livelihood.

We urge the government to rescind the June 6, 2022 order as it violates the Constitution. The Anti-Terrorism Law of 2020 also contains no provision for blocking public access to news and information. The action of the NSC and the NTC can only be understood as prior restraint.

We call on everyone, not just journalists and members of the media, to stand in solidarity with Bulatlat and Pinoy Weekly, which, in the many years of their existence and in the best traditions of journalism, have demonstrated their commitment to provide alternative news and views to allow a faithful accounting of the state of the nation. 

That these have been done according to the exacting standards journalism should be praised instead of punished. 






Center for Media Freedom and Responsibility

National Union of Journalists of the Philippines

Philippine Press Institute

Philippine Center for Investigative Journalism



As of 07 July 2022, 6:37 p.m.:


Media Organizations:

Altermidya Network

Aninaw Productions

Asia Democracy Chronicles, through Tess Bacalla

Center for Community Journalism and Development, through Red Batario

College Editors Guild of the Philippines

Concerned Artists of the Philippines Bicol Chapter

Davao Today

DLSU-D Broadcast Journalism Program Council

Factual, through Anthony Esguerra

Kodao Productions

Mindanao News Express

Northern Dispatch

NUJP-NCR, through Lourdes Escaros

OneNews.PH, through Katrina Hallare

Philippine Collegian

Philippine Daily Inquirer, through Julie Alipala, through Franco Luna

Probe, through Jen Aquino

Rappler, through Marites Vitug

Samar Island Press Club - Calbayog City Chapter, through Gina Dean

The UP Community Broadcasters' Society

UPLB Perspective

Women Writers in Media Now



Adelle Chua

Ai Macalintal, PCIJ

Allan Ace Aclan, Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Muntinlupa

Alliah Andaleon, Southern Tagalog Exposure

Ann Lordes Lopez

Ara Eugenio

Aubrey Glaiza Delos Reyes, GMA Network

Barnaby Lo

Bea Cupin

Benise Balaoing, ABS-CBN News

Bobby Lagsa, Rappler and NewslinePh

Bong Lacson, Punto! Central Luzon

Bryan Manalang, VERA Files

Camille Diola

Carl Javier, PumaPodcast

Carla Bauto Deña

Carmela Fonbuena, PCIJ

Carmela Nasam, The UP Community Broadcasters' Society

Catalina Ricci Madarang

Charlize Mendez Legaspi

Chi Liquicia

Christian Faith Navarro, PumaPodcast

Christina Quiambao, ABS-CBN News

Ciara Annatu

Cora Lucas, Philippine Daily Inquirer

Cristina Chi, Tinig ng Plaridel

Detsy Uy

DJ Yap, Philippine Daily Inquirer

EC Toledo

Ed Lingao, TV5 and OneNews/ONEPH

Elijah Roderos, VERA Files

Ellen Tordesillas, VERA Files

Elmer James Bandol

Ernesto Collo

Esther Chavez

Eunicia Mediodia

Felipe Salvosa II

Gab Humilde Villegas

Gaby Baizas, Rappler

Gerg Cahiles

Giancarlo Morrondoz, UPLB Perspective

Glenn Ford Tolentino

Harold Raymundo, Mabuhay News

Inday Pizon

Iris Gonzales

Ivel Santos

Ivy Marie Silang

Iya Gozum, Rappler

Jaira Roxas, Rappler

Jan Cuyco, Tinig ng Plaridel

Jane Bautista, Philippine Daily Inquirer

Janvic Mateo, Philippine Star/

Jaymen Ray Amihan

Jee Geronimo, Rappler

Jeline Malasig

Jericho Trio, College Editors Guild of the Philippines

Jerome Sagcal

Jhesset Enano

Jil Danielle Caro

Jimmy Domingo, PonD News Asia

Jo-Ann Maglipon

Joanna Aglibot

Jodesz Gavilan, Rappler

Joel Mataro, PCIJ

John A. Bello, Quezon Chronos

John Cavin Sabonsolin

John Nery, Rappler and ACFJ

John Ray Luciano

Jomar Villanueva

Joseph Bernard Marzan, Daily Guardian

Joshua Ely Empeño

Ka Bino Guerrero

Kara Magsanoc-Alikpala

Karol Ilagan

Kaycee Valmonte

Kenneth Roland Guda

Kevin Angelo Ortiz

Kim Bernard Fajardo, Department of Broadcast Communication - PUP

Kristine Bersamina,

Krixia Subingsubing

Leilani Chavez

Leonardo Vicente "Cong" Corrales, Mindanao Gold Star Daily

Lian Buan, Rappler

Lita Jane B. Cadalig, Baguio Midland Courier

Luigi Almuena, PCIJ

Ma. Diosa Labiste, Department of Journalism, UP College of Mass Communication

Manny Mogato

Mara Cepeda, Rappler

Mariejo Ramos, Philippine Daily Inquirer

Mark Famatigan, Yahoo News Philippines

Mark Lester Ponce, The Negros News

Mark Vincent Tolibao, CvSU Journalism Guild

Martha Teodoro

Meeko Angela Camba, VERA Files

Melvin Gascon

Michael "Mitch" Santos

Michael Navarro, MNETV

Michelle Zoleta, Philippine Star Quezon Province

Mon Karlo Mangaran

Nestor Burgos, Philippine Daily Inquirer

Nick Garcia

Nina Torralba, PumaPodcast

Nini Cabaero

Patricia Aquino, PumaPodcast

Patricia Lourdes Viray

Paul Nicholas Soriano

Pearl Aguilar, PCIJ

Pia Regalado

Prinz Magtulis

Raffy Tima

Rambo Talabong

Redmond Jae Tobias Flores

Rey Garcia, The Mindanao Observer

Reynier Cuenca Tasico

Ricky Bautista, NUJP

Robert Jacob Lazaro

Robert Jaworski Abano, Philippine Daily Inquirer

Roby Alampay

Rochel Ellen Bernido, Rappler

Roel Hoang Manipon, Daily Tribune

Romma Lyn Mendoza

Rommel Lopez,

Rosette Adel

Roy Narra, One News/One PH

Roy Stephen Canivel, PDI

Russel Ku, Rappler

Samantha Nicole Agura

Sharra Elep, PCIJ

Shawn Yao, ONE News

Sofia Virtudes

Sonny Fernandez

Taher Solaiman

Therese Torres, Asian Institute of Journalism and Communication/IAWRT Philippines

Tirso Paglicawan

Vincent Cabreza

Voltaire Tupaz, FYT Media

Wilmor Pacay III

Xave Gregorio

Yanie Elizan




Follow PCIJ on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.